Whether you’re a prospective or current student, we hope the following set of resources will be of assistance for you throughout your experience with the program.


Program Description

The Urban and Regional Planning programs educate students in the scientific, aesthetic, and orderly disposition of land, resources, facilities and services with a view to securing the physical, economic and social efficiency, health and well-being of communities. Planners work for all levels of government and in professional planning consultancies.  The department offers the planning education at the Undergraduate, Masters, and PhD levels.

Academic Requirements

Choose your program and year you started.

Department Resources

  1. The Department of Earth & Atmospheric Sciences website for Urban & Regional Planning outlines required courses for graduation, the major/minor credit requirements for students in the human geography program, the skills gained throughout your degree, one’s job prospects post-graduation, and more. The website can be found here.
  2. For even further information on Planning as a field of study, the knowledge outcomes of studying Planning at the University of Alberta, as well as on the diversity of sub-disciplines available in the field, visit the Faculty of Arts website here.
  3. Information, pricing, and high-school course requirements for those looking to apply to the BA Planning Program can be found here. Information regarding the BSc Specialization Program can be found here

Faculty

Dr. Sandeep Agrawal

  • Inaugural Director & Professor
  • Email: sagrawal@ualberta.ca
  • Office: Tory 3-107

Dr. Jeff Birchall

  • Assistant Professor
  • Email: jeff.birchall@ualberta.ca
  • Office: Tory 3-115

Dr. Leith Deacon

  • Assistant Professor
  • Email: deacon1@ualberta.ca
  • Office: Tory 3-117

Dr. Manish Shirgaokar

  • Assistant Professor
  • Email: shirgaokar@ualberta.ca
  • Office: Tory 3-113

Dr. Amrita Singh

  • Assistant Professor
  • Email: amrita4@ualberta.ca
  • Office: Tory 3-98

Dr. Robert Summers

  • Faculty Services Officer & Associate Director
  • Email: robert.summers@ualberta.ca
  • Office: Tory 3-90

Dr. Kristof van Assche

  • Professor
  • Email: vanassch@ualberta.ca
  • Office: 2-187 Enterprise Square

Note: Sessional Instructors not displayed.



Videos